>>96250220
>But where does it say in B/X that you can't move and attack at the same time?
I've rechecked the rules and I was incorrect, picrel.
>>96251561
>the rules never explicitly state that moving and attacking are disallowed.
They actually explicitly say that it is ALLOWED, picrel.
While I was double checking, I've remembered why I decided to use the AD&D rule even with B/X and then proceeded to forget I had houseruled it in the first place: Without it, the B/X definition of "charge" is quite unsatisfactory for me at least: Only a couple specific monsters can deal double damage while charging, which in turn makes the ability to set the spear mostly pointless: practically nobody charges, ever.
The AD&D rule makes the choice between charging and closing meaningful. But it does require the players to make more detailed action declarations, which is not necessarily ideal for beginners.
Apologies, carry on.